September 3, 2019

Sauk Prairie Healthcare Foundation Awards $30K in Scholarships to 17 Staff Members

Every year, Sauk Prairie Healthcare Foundation provides scholarships for employee nurses who are pursuing additional education. This year, the program was expanded to award scholarships to non-nursing professionals. The Foundation presented a total of $30,000 to team members at a ceremony held Thursday, August 22.

The nursing scholarships began several years ago when Sauk Prairie Healthcare set goals based on the National Nursing 2020 Initiative to increase the percentage of staff with bachelor of nursing degrees. The hospital's Nursing Council came to the Foundation and asked for help in funding scholarships for current employees who were enrolled in accredited nursing programs. The Foundation awarded $5,000 in the initial year of the program. To date, the Foundation has provided more than $100,000 in nursing scholarships, an investment in both employees and ensuring that patients will receive state-of-the-art care.

According to Todd Wuerger, Foundation Executive Director, "Sauk Prairie Healthcare Foundation Scholarships are possible only because of the many loyal and generous donors who choose to give to Sauk Prairie Healthcare Foundation. That includes our providers and employees, our board members, local businesses and many of our patients and their families."

This year's award recipients are listed below with their department and hometown:

Named (donor-supported) Scholarships:

  • Sarah Lee, Technician in the Emergency Department and Birthing Center, received the Jane and Stephen Manke Nursing Scholarship, Spring Green
  • Chelsey Pulvermacher, LPN at the River Valley Clinic, received the Marilyn Sprecher Nursing Scholarship, Richland Center
  • Jennifer Meyer, RN case manager and utilization reviewer in the Care Management Department received the Pines Assisted Living Nursing Scholarship, Prairie du Sac
  • Payton Liegel, RN in the Emergency Department, received the Jan Breunig APNP Memorial Nursing Scholarship, which was presented by Jan's husband, Larry Manthey, Prairie du Sac
  • Paige Ederer, RN in the Birth Center and Women's Care, received the Dr. Koch Nursing Scholarship, North Freedom

Unnamed Scholarships:

  • Julie Gorman, charge RN in the Emergency Department, Cross Plains
  • Kathleen Greenwood, circulating RN in the Surgery Department, Reedsburg
  • Ashley Lemmer, RN in the Surgery Center, Merrimac
  • Lisa Pickarts, RN and Director of the Emergency Department, North Freedom
  • Melodie Sliter, RN in the Surgery Department, Sauk City
  • Emilene Rudarmel, Certified Nursing Assistant in Acute Care, Baraboo
  • Jenell Caygill, MRI Technologist in our Diagnostic Imaging Department, Merrimac
  • Cari Coker-Fritsch, Clinical Documentation Improvement Specialist in the Coding Department, Prairie du Sac
  • Kelsey Gilbertson, Radiologic Technologist in our Diagnostic Imaging Department, Spring Green
  • Jillian Troxel, Physical Therapist in the Rehabilitation Department, Prairie du Sac
  • Tanya Wildman, Radiologic Technologist in the Medical Imaging Department, Prairie du Sac
  • Jessica Griffin, Radiologic Technologist in the Medical Imaging Department, Prairie du Sac

Sauk Prairie Healthcare Foundation fosters charitable giving that supports the vision of Sauk Prairie Healthcare, provides sound stewardship of contributions and advances the health of our communities. For more information visit the Sauk Prairie Healthcare Foundation online or call Foundation Executive Director Todd Wuerger at 608-643-7226.

Shown above:  Representatives of Sauk Prairie Healthcare Foundation and Leadership with the 2019 scholarship recipients (left to right): Jillian Troxel , Pat Yanke (Foundation Treasurer), Lisa Pickerts, Julie Gorman, Kelsey Gilbertson, Denise Cole-Ouzounian (Vice President, Patient Services) , Ashley Lemmer, Cari Coker-Fritsch, Jennell Caygill, Chelsey Pulvermacher, Sarah Lee, Jennifer Meyer, Melodie Sliter, Payton Liegel, Mandie Busser (chair of the Nursing Council), Todd Wuerger (Foundation Executive Director.)

Not pictured: Tanya Wildman, Jessica Griffin, Emilene Rudarmel, Kathleen Greenwood, Paige Ederer

Return To List View